Happy Birthday Dad

Standard
My Dad and me in 1959

My Dad and me in 1959

Today my Dad, Robert Hahn would have been 76. This photograph was taken in March 1959 at my Grandfather’s farm.  Later that summer he and Mom would start HAHN INDUSTRIES. Knowing the creative thinker he was I have to believe while he was shoveling corn this day he was thinking about what he could do to provide for his young family.

I often have to repeat the story when a customer ask me how the business started; each time I say how proud I am of my parents.  They had four kids by the time they were twenty-one, had one unfortunately die, and started a business, I frankly don’t know how they managed.  As Mom states, “and… we didn’t have disposable diapers.”

They worked and lived the American Dream!

Happy Birthday Dad

Photo taken in front of a picture of the business.  Sometime in the 1980's.  He is holding the first mold he started HAHN INDUSTRIES with, I'm holding the chick.  One of my favorite photographs!

Photo taken in front of a picture of the business in Cullom, IL. He is holding the first mold he bought for HAHN INDUSTRIES, I’m holding the chick. One of my favorite photographs!

Later… Barbara

Leave a comment