Honeybees and Butterflies at Christmas…

Standard

Especially this time of year my mind wonders back to Jamaica.  Have I mentioned… “I HATE SNOW” ?

Freshly fallen snow covering the brownness of fall is always picturesque. There is nothing more magical than a sunny morning after an overnight snowstorm.  Undisturbed sparkles seem to quiet the world.  Okay, hate is probably not the best word to use, let’s just say… “I strongly dislike snow!”  I tolerate it on Christmas Eve, it should be gone by New Year’s Day!

I must explain the tropics in winter have a magic all its own too.  I recall one Christmas morning sitting on my patio sipping a cup of Blue Mountain coffee, soaking in the warmth from the sunshine.  My thoughts were about family and friends escaping the cold of Illinois and arriving shortly.  At first, I was feeling down in the dumps, something didn’t seem quite right.  Besides thinking about people I missed, I began to believe I missed the snow too.  I even had Bing Crosby in my head singing… I’m… Dreaming… of a White… Christmas

Then I started watching the honeybees and butterflies dancing and playing among the flowers like miniature fairies. I immediately recaptured my sanity; I will never forget watching them and how they made me smile!  It’s one of my favorite memories of Christmas in Jamaica… watching honeybees and butterflies.  I didn’t miss the icicles and slippery roads one bit!  What a fabulous place to be for the holidays; forget snow… time to go for a swim! 

Santa at Beach

Later… Barbara

About Barbara

A small town girl trying to make a difference in my children's lives, my community, my business and myself. I am always writing a story in my head. One of my favorite quotes: "The question isn't who is going to let me; it's who is going to stop me." Ayn Rand

One response »

  1. I thought I missed the snow too but now I love looking out my window and seeing it on the far mountains while I am all cozy in my jammies here in sunny California.

Leave a Reply

