History of Hahn Industries ~ Part II

Standard

Aerial view of Hahn Industries in the 1970’s
(click on all photos to enlarge)

Milk House ~ 1955

“Change is inevitable. Change for the better is a full-time job.”                                         ~ Adlai E. Stevenson

This aerial view has brought back a few memories and stories.  The former Hahn Dairy and Chicken farm has gone through many transformations over the years.  The warehouse was built in 1964, the attached office and showroom in 1972.  When the folks started HAHN INDUSTRIES at the farm in 1960, the office was in the milk house, next to the house where the garage is today.

Caboose on railroad tracks, being lifted by crane to move to Hahn Industries display area.

Notice the caboose in the display area.  It was an old E.J.&E. caboose used as a gift shop.  It was purchased and brought down the Illinois Central rail line from Chicago.  They used a crane to move it from the railroad tracks to the display yard.  It deteriorated over time and has since been removed.

In the upper left hand corner of the top photograph, the buildings with an enclosed pasture was our little menagerie.  My Great-Uncle Louie raised white-tail deer, peacocks, exotic pheasants and chickens, wild turkeys and monkeys.  Most everyone my age in Cullom will remember our monkey  ‘Coco’.  <I just had someone ask me about him the other day>.  Coco made many trips to school when my Dad would take him for us kid’s show and tell days. <Unfortunately, I don’t recall ever seeing photographs of Coco, he was a character!>  

Many years ago, the area in the top photograph with the six white circles use to be a cow pasture. After they would chase the cows out, the Chicago Bears would practice and scrimmage in Cullom. <I’ve seen a photograph with them, but unable to find it, still searching!>

Hahn Barn ~ 1955

The barn had a round brick silo, which in later years we used as a rubbish incinerator.  The story goes when they went to take the silo down, my Dad and his friend, Clinton Clausen were going to blow it apart to remove it.  They used a bit too much dynamite, rattled every window in town, and blew out the corner of the barn as well.  But, they did get it down!

Barn After Silo Explosion

The barn was demolished this past August, <no dynamite involved> and as of this writing we’re still cleaning up the last remnants.  A new display area is being planned.

Barn Demolition Aug.25, 2012

Over the past years there have been many modifications to the Hahn Farm.

My Grandpa always said…                                          “You don’t make anything too permanent around here, you never know when you will have to change it.”  He was a very wise man!

Later… Barbara

About Barbara

A small town girl trying to make a difference in my children's lives, my community, my business and myself. I am always writing a story in my head. One of my favorite quotes: "The question isn't who is going to let me; it's who is going to stop me." Ayn Rand

2 responses »

  1. What was the number of the EJ&E caboose you once had? When it was removed, was it scrapped? We have one just like it here on the railroad I work for in far Southern Illinois. There were 89 of these built and I know of about 12 still in existence, this one you had was not on my list of survivors.

    Any information would be greatly appreciated!

    • Hi Edward, Unfortunately, I’m not going to be much helped. I talked with my Mom, and she doesn’t have any idea what the number was of the Caboose. It was scrapped in the early 80’s. Too bad we didn’t pay more attention, wished we still had it. It was a real conversation piece! ~ Barbara

Leave a Reply

